Results announced for Bicycle, Blues and Barbecue races

Clear Lake played host to hundreds of bicyclists during the Bicycle, Blues and Barbecue event held the weekend of July 6-8.  The party started on Friday night in City Park, downtown Clear Lake, with barbecue and live music.  
    On Saturday, a charity fun ride began at 7 a.m.  The bicycle racing began on Saturday with omnium race format, where cyclists compete for the over-all best racer of the weekend in three cycling disciplines: time trial, criterium and road race.

    The time trial is a race against the clock and was held at Lions Field.  It was an out-and-back course of about seven miles.  The criterium race ran through the streets of downtown Clear Lake.  This USCF sanctioned race is short and intense, on closed city streets. Rounding out the weekend was Sunday’s Iowa Cup Series road race.  This race is a point-to-point route running through the North Iowa countryside.
    The top three finishers in each race, along with any Clear Lake competitors are as follows:
    •Men’s Overall Omnium Winners:  Thomas Zirbel, Boulder, Colo., 1st; Adam Bergman, Saint Paul, Minn., 2nd; Patrick Lemiex, Saint Paul, Minn., 3rd.
    •Women’s Overall Omnium Winners:  Lisa Vetterlein, Des Moines, Iowa, 1st; Vanessa Curtis, Iowa City, Iowa, 2nd; Leah Kleager, Omaha, Neb., 3rd.
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master-40-99:  Paul Deninger, Iowa City, Iowa, 1st; Cody McCullough, Sioux City, Iowa, 2nd; Scott Wall, Ames, Iowa, 3rd
    Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master - 50-99:  Christopher Eastburn, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1st; Daniel Shaffer, Ely, Iowa, 2nd; Bruce Ostermann, Worland, Wy., 3rd.  David Delperdang, Clear Lake, 13th.
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master 60-99:  Richard Pearson, Fremont, Neb., 1st; Scott Bulfinch, Lincoln, Neb., 2nd; John Adamson, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 3rd
    •Men - Pro/Cat. 1/2:  Thomas Zirbel, 1st; Adam Bergman, 2nd; Patrick Lemiex, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 3:  Nathan Kullbom, Iowa City, Iowa, 1st; Greg Gleason, Sioux Falls, S.D., 2nd; Travis Jass, Fort Dodge, Iowa, 3rd
    • Men - Cat. 4:  Kyle Fleener, Aurora, Ill., 1st; Caleb Vukovich, Brookings, S.D., 2nd; Andrew Reynolds, Ames, Iowa, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 5:  David Olsen, Blue Earth, Minn., 1st; Matthew Cymanski, Hiram, Ohio, 2nd; Rob Haaland, Waterloo, Iowa, 3rd
    •Women - Cat. 1/2/3/4:  Lisa Vetterlein, 1st; Vanessa Curtis, 2nd; Leah Kleager, 3rd
    •Women - Cat. 4:  Rachel Plessing, Kennard, Neb., 1st; Linda Cooper, Ankeny, Iowa, 2nd; Catherine McMullen, Des Moines, 3rd
Road Race
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master - 40-99:  Cody McCullough, 1st; Paul Deninger, 2nd; Scott Wall, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master 50-99:  Daniel Shaffer, 1st; Christopher Eastburn, 2nd; Bruce Ostermann, 3rd.  David Delperdang, Clear Lake, 11th.
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master 60-99:  Richard Pearson, 1st; Gary Henry, Iowa City, 2nd; Scott Bulfinch, 3rd
    •Men - Pro/Cat. 1/2:  Adam Bergman, 1st; David Carpenter, 2nd, Norwalk, Iowa; Jerome Rewerts, Nevada, Iowa, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 3:  Anthony Muse, West Des Moines, 1st; Greg Gleason, 2nd; Kristopher Kunze, West Des Moines, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 4:  Brenden Hardy, Iowa City, 1st; Kyle Fleener, 2nd; Jason Bernstein, Altoona, Iowa, 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 5:  David Alexander, Des Moines, 1st; David Olsen, 2nd; Jason Uhlenhake, Des Moines, 3rd.  Jason Sholly, Clear Lake, 6th.
    •Women - Cat. 1/2/3/4:  Vanessa Curtis, 1st; Cassandra Kessler, Iowa City, 2nd; Lisa Vetterlein, 3rd
    •Women - Cat. 4:  Linda Cooper, 1st; Rachel Plessing, 2nd; Nicole Fiala, Davenport, Iowa, 3rd

    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Junior - 12--Oct.:  Tyler Reynolds, Pella, Iowa, 1st;  Speed Toyne, Clear Lake, 2nd; Tyler Curtis, Castle Rock, Colo., 3rd
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Junior 13-14:  Trey Hedgecock, Ankeny, 1st
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Junior 15-16:  Sam Escherich, Ankeny, 1st; Bret Thompson, Sartell
    •Men - Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Junior 17-18:  William Rekemeyer, Ames, 1st; Leif Lujan, West Union, Iowa, 2nd; Glenjr Houts, Sioux City, Iowa, 3rd
    •Men. Cat. 1/2/3/4 - Master 30-99:  Steven Robinson, Des Moines, 1st; Chad Briggs, Murh - Read More Via e-Edition

Comments are closed.