Clear Lake football team to continue tradition

Another year, another Clear Lake football team ranked among the Class 3A powers.
    The Lions will kick off the 2011 season Friday night ranked number 10 in Class 3A.  The Lions will be looking to extend the state‚Äôs longest regular win streak (32, post season not included). They are also tied for the sixth current longest district/conference win streak (26), according to the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

    Eight letterwinners return from the 2010 Lion team which posted a 10-1 record.  The team advanced to the second round of the State play-offs before being defeated by West Delaware, Manchester. 
    Among the experienced players providing the team with leadership are three All-District performers: senior quarterback Ozzie Adams; senior offensive lineman Chase Crosby; and senior linebacker Tanner Truesdell.  Adams was a unanimous First Team choice.  In addition to passing for 1,057 yards, he was also among the team leaders in rushing with 688 yards on 121 carries.  He scored eight touchdowns passing and five with his run.  Crosby was also a unanimous First Team choice as a junior on the O-line.  Truesdell was honored as a First Team linebacker.  Truesdell was a leader in tackles for the team last season; of his 75, 33 were solo.  Other returning letterwinners include senior offensive guard Adam Buehler, senior defensive end Logan Kellogg, senior linebacker Tanner Tusha, and senior defensive backs Michael Keeran and Zach Bendickson.
    All of that experience makes Coach Wieck list the offensive line as the strength of his 2011 team.
    Coach Wieck also expects Bryson Hamilton and Gavin Sheakley to contribute greatly for the team.
    The Lions began preparation for the fall season by participating in the Upper Iowa Team camp this summer.  Fifty players took part in the camp.
    Coach Wieck said his team has set a goal of continuing its dominance in District 3, then competing for a State title. 
    The Lions have captured District titles each of the past three seasons.  In 2008 (District 2) and 2010 (District 3) Clear Lake won the district over Webster City.  In 2009, the Lions won over Charles City in District 2.    In 2007, Waverly-Shell Rock and Clear Lake each finished play in - Read More Via e-Edition

Comments are closed.