Sukup named to Judicial Nominating Committee


Steve Sukup, of Clear Lake, is one of eight Republicans named by Iowa Governor Terry Branstad to the nonpartisan Judicial Nominating Commission, a citizen board responsible for interviewing and selecting 

nominees to the Iowa Supreme Court and Iowa Court of Appeals.

The commission is part of Iowa’s merit-based judicial election and retention system.  Iowa Code changes required the commission to sunset on Dec. 31, 2012. 

The previous commission composition was based on congressional districts from 1965 with one member from each district with a total of seven members appointed by the governor.  The new commission is based on congressional districts following the 2010 census and is effective Jan. 1, 2013 and now has two members, one male and one female, from each district for a total of eight members appointed by the governor.  Iowa State Bar Association lawyers name another eight people.

Branstad on Monday chose Sukup, along with Jerry Welter of Monticello; Kathy Pearson, of Cedar Rapids; Scott Bailey, of Otley; Helen Sinclair, of Melrose; Liz Doll, of Council Bluffs; John Bloom, of West Des Moines; and Patricia Roberts, of Carroll.

State law requires the members to serve staggered terms with full terms being six years in length. 

Sukup was appointed by Branstad from the Fourth District and will serve a term that ends April 30, 2016. Sukup’s appointment as well as the appointment of the seven other members are subject to Senate confirmation.

Comments are closed.