GHV players earn post-season honors

Following a successful season, the Garner-Hayfield/Ventura Cardinals football team was honored by having 10 senior players recognized as Class 2A District 2 All-District selections.

Earning First Team honors was:  Sahid Devora, defensive line; Braden Meints, linebacker, kicker and punter; Colton Knutson, defensive back; Nic Tusha, linebacker; and Shawn Murphy, defensive line.

Meints led the team in rushing with 1,289 yards and 12 touchdowns.  He also led the team on defense with 39 solo tackles, 12 tackles for loss, and 71 total tackles. Devora recorded 18 solo tackles and had 46 total tackles for the season. Knutson recorded three interceptions, 23 solo tackles and 34 total tackles.  Tusha had 21 solo tackles and 62 total tackles.  He also had 303 rushing yards and four touchdowns.  Murphy was the leading receiver with eight catches for 167-yards and four touchdowns.  He also had 42 total tackles.

Jimmy Legge, offensive line, and Spencer Shaw, quarterback, were named to the Second Team.

Legge recorded 24 total tackles and had three solo tackles.  Shaw completed 12 passes, he rushed for 139-yards and had four touchdowns.  He also recorded four interceptions.

Earning Honorable Mention recognition was Gabe Umbarger, offensive line; Tyler Buck, defensive line; and Mark Wellik, line backer.

Buck had 16 total tackles.  He rushed for 303-yards and had two touchdowns.  Wellik had 23 total tackles and two fumble recoveries.

Earning All-Academic honors were seniors: Trey Jass, Shaw, Legge, and Jimmy Ermer; juniors, Kevin Boehnke, Logan Ryerson, Michael Chizek and Corey Huptman.  Also earning All-Academic recognition were the following cheerleaders: Ellie Meyers, senior; and juniors Meg Finley, Tiara Van Gerpen, Mackenzie Haag, Autumn Prehn and Shelby Schroeder.

Comments are closed.